Chapter 1. Linux Virtual Server Overview

Chapter 1. Linux Virtual Server Overview

1.1. A Basic LVS Configuration
1.1.1. Data Replication and Data Sharing Between Real Servers
1.2. A Three-Tier LVS Configuration
1.3. LVS Scheduling Overview
1.3.1. Scheduling Algorithms
1.3.2. Server Weight and Scheduling
1.4. Routing Methods
1.4.1. NAT Routing
1.4.2. Direct Routing
1.5. Persistence and Firewall Marks
1.5.1. Persistence
1.5.2. Firewall Marks
1.6. LVS — A Block Diagram
1.6.1. LVS Components

Linux Virtual Server (LVS) is a set of integrated software components for balancing the IP load across a set of real servers. LVS runs on a pair of equally configured computers: one that is an active LVS router and one that is a backup LVS router. The active LVS router serves two roles:

The backup LVS router monitors the active LVS router and takes over from it in case the active LVS router fails.

This chapter provides an overview of LVS components and functions, and consists of the following sections:

Note: This documentation is provided {and copyrighted} by Red Hat®, Inc. and is released via the Open Publication License. The copyright holder has added the further requirement that Distribution of substantively modified versions of this document is prohibited without the explicit permission of the copyright holder. The CentOS project redistributes these original works (in their unmodified form) as a reference for CentOS-5 because CentOS-5 is built from publicly available, open source SRPMS. The documentation is unmodified to be compliant with upstream distribution policy. Neither CentOS-5 nor the CentOS Project are in any way affiliated with or sponsored by Red Hat®, Inc.