Benefits of CentOS vs Debian?

A 5 star hangout for overworked and underpaid system admins.
raoul123

Benefits of CentOS vs Debian?

Post by raoul123 » 2019/10/03 13:01:25

Hello, I am quite new to the linux world and would love to breath life into an old macbook of mine with linux. I have had little experience with CentOS and Debian other than in cloud based workloads run off of AWS. From my experience, Debian deems to be a far more supported OS with apt-get, and just general online support. Are there aspects of a CentOS based OS that I should be considering? And in general, coming from macOS, are there any distros you guys would personally recommend?

tunk

Re: Benefits of CentOS vs Debian?

Post by tunk » 2019/10/04 12:06:49

CentOS is based on Red Hat and the main benefit is long term
support/updates. I haven't used Debian much, but my impression
is that there's more software/packages available. If you're
going to use it as a server I suggest that you select CentOS.

owl102

Post by owl102 » 2019/10/05 10:01:54

CentOS
  • Released and supported by a company (Red Hat)
  • Supported as Server OS by most vendors
  • Updates contain bug fixes as well
  • Has point releases which update some appllications (Gnome, Libre Office, ...)
  • 10 year life cycle: https://access.redhat.com/support/policy/updates/errata
  • Small repositories provided by CentOS, epel repository compensate this for some amount, rpmfusion needed for multi media stuff
  • QA: Fedora as kind of "beta" version tested by the community, afterwards QA from Red Hat takes over and do futher testing/bugfixing before releasing it as RHEL/CentOS.
  • Does not have an upgrade path
Debian
  • Released and supported by the community