Re: [SOLVED] how to use yum through ISA proxy using Active D

Issues related to software problems.
Post Reply
tuankun
Posts: 2
Joined: 2013/05/20 05:36:47
Location: China

[SOLVED] how to use yum through ISA proxy using Active Directory account

Post by tuankun » 2013/05/20 06:03:14

Hi,Guys,
In my company, We use ISA2006 as the proxy server,and Windows Server 2003 Active directory to manage all accounts(such as contoso\user01,contoso is the domain name).
we can browse the Internet using IE through ISA IP *Port on Windows Client.

But how can I configure to use yum through ISA proxy and Active Directory account on CentOS 5.8 Client? Many thanks !

I had configured /etc/yum.conf as follows:
proxy=http://10.42.22.3:8080 #ISA IP & Port
proxy_username=contoso\user01
proxy_password=123abc~ #account & password is correct

But it did work:
[root@server01 yum.repos.d]# yum clean all
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, security
Cleaning up Everything
Cleaning up list of fastest mirrors
[root@server01 yum.repos.d]# yum list
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, security
Determining fastest mirrors
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=5&arch=x86_64&repo=os error was
[Errno 14] HTTP Error 407: Proxy Authentication Required ( The ISA Server requires authorization to fulfill the request. Access to the Web Proxy filter is denied. )
Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: base

User avatar
TrevorH
Site Admin
Posts: 33219
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: [SOLVED] how to use yum through ISA proxy using Active D

Post by TrevorH » 2013/05/20 10:33:20

Pretty sure you will need to install and configure a package called [b]cntlm[/b] which you can find in the EPEL repository. It allows yum to talk to NTLM enabled proxies so you can put in your proxy username/password.

tuankun
Posts: 2
Joined: 2013/05/20 05:36:47
Location: China

Re: [SOLVED] how to use yum through ISA proxy using Active Directory account

Post by tuankun » 2013/05/22 08:29:45

Thank you so much ,TrevorH! It works!! :lol:

to help others, steps as follows:
1.download rpm packages:
My Linux is CentOS 5.8 X64,so download :ftp://rpmfind.net/linux/epel/5/x86_64/cntlm-0.35.1-5.el5.x86_64.rpm

2.[root@Server01 ~]#rpm -ivh cntlm-0.35.1-5.el5.x86_64.rpm

3.[root@Server01 ~]#vi /etc/cntlm.conf
Username user01 #domain account
Domain contoso.com #domain name
Password 123abc~ #password

Proxy 192.168.1.1:8080 #ISA Proxy

4.[root@Server01 ~]# cntlm -c /etc/cntlm.conf #maybe cntlm also is OK

5.vi /etc/yum.conf
add a line:
proxy=http://127.0.0.1:3128/

6.[root@Server01 ~]#vi .bash_profile
add :
export http_proxy=http://localhost:3128/
export https_proxy=${http_proxy}
export ftp_proxy=${http_proxy}

7.logoff root and login again

8.yum clean all

9 yum install XXXX

10.over! :lol:

ram
Posts: 1
Joined: 2015/03/11 20:43:53

Re: [SOLVED] how to use yum through ISA proxy using Active D

Post by ram » 2015/03/11 20:53:01

TrevorH wrote:Pretty sure you will need to install and configure a package called cntlm which you can find in the EPEL repository. It allows yum to talk to NTLM enabled proxies so you can put in your proxy username/password.
TrevorH, You should be a genius :ugeek: thanks alot buddy you saved my life... :lol:

Post Reply