poor performance & timeouts - centos 5.8

Issues related to hardware problems
kiriix

Post by kiriix » 2012/12/07 15:58:33

Hi
I'm fairly new to centos, so I have to look alot of linux commands up.

I have a server that's running Centos 5.8 and cPanel, it's got a Intel Quad core 8400 with 8GB Ram.

It been online for just over 2 years, over the past 3 to 4 months I've been getting some timeout when on some of the sites.
If I do 'free -m' it shows a total of 7822 and 338 free (sometimes as low as 150 ish).
I also find gaps in the graphs in cPanel - Mumin Service Monitor - Memory usage, the graph shows 'cache' at an average of 6G.
Could I be right in thinking my problems are due to the high memory usage?

Could anyone help me?
I'm after any advise or help so I can get my server working better again.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers

Karl

TrevorH
Site Admin

Post by TrevorH » 2012/12/07 23:34:01

No, Linux treats unused RAM as a resource that it should use for useful purposes so it caches recently read files in it if it has no other use for it. A read of a the site http://www.linuxatemyram.com might be useful.

You need to look into the various log files in /var/log and its subdirectories and see if anything is being logged around the times of the problems. Also, if you do not already have it installed, install the package 'sysstat' and edit the file /etc/cron.d/sysstat and adjust the second line so that it reads

[code]
*/10 * * * * root /usr/lib64/sa/sa1 -d 1 1
[/code]