Problem copying files from CentOS 5.11 to Windows 2012R2

Issues related to configuring your network
GibsonPaul

Problem copying files from CentOS 5.11 to Windows 2012R2

Post by GibsonPaul » 2015/10/16 19:17:31

I'm a newbie to CentOS (and *nix in general), so please forgive me if I miss something obvious. I'm a Windows
network administrator by profession who's been assigned to support a few CentOS virtual machines.

Setup: We have an air-gapped network (no Internet access) which has Windows 20012 R2 and Windows 7, with
Active Directory. We have a few CentOS 5.5 and 5.11 virtual machines (our customer uses those versions, so we
have to stay with them); upgrading is not an option. For the sake of this problem, Windows is the file server
and CentOS is the client. All copying is done when logged on to CentOS locally.

Problem: We're having problems copying files from CentOS to Windows. We can connect to the Windows 2012 R2 share and copy files from Windows to CentOS. When we try to copy from CentOS to Windows, we get an error message. 'Error "Invalid parameters" while copying file "/home/pgib...k Account".'. The file name is created on the Windows share but the file size is 0 bytes. We can delete the empty file, create folders and delete folders. We just can't put data in the files.

I suspect the problem is a Windows security setting, but soe far I haven't been able to idenfity it. The regulations we have to follow require security to be turned up very high. We are able to copy files to a Windows 2003 server, but not Windows 2012 R2. Some of the shares I've tried are using Windows Dedup, but not all of them. Because of the security requirements, I can't post logs here; sorry.