htaccess/apache setup problems

Installing, Configuring, Troubleshooting server daemons such as Web and Mail
legojenn

htaccess/apache setup problems

Post by legojenn » 2007/05/02 16:42:52

Hello:

I am writing with a little problem that I am having getting .htaccess to work on my CentOS 5.0 server. I am new to CentOS having recently converting from Slackware after a hardware failure. So far I like CentOS and have had few conversion pains. I have had no difficulty setting up .htaccess on my old server configurations so I figure that I am making a simple error. I would appreciate any assistance solving this problem.

Jenn

This is the 401 error that I am getting from the browser

Authorization Required
This server could not verify that you are authorized to access the document requested. Either you supplied the wrong credentials (e.g., bad password), or your browser doesn't understand how to supply the credentials required.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS) Server at www.jenn.ca Port 80

---

This is how I have modified the httpd.conf file
-----------------------------------------------

# First, we configure the "default" to be a very restrictive set of
# features.
#
#
# Options FollowSymLinks
# AllowOverride None
#

AllowOverride AuthConfig

---

This is the error log
---------------------

[Wed May 02 12:18:23 2007] [notice] caught SIGTERM, shutting down
[Wed May 02 12:18:34 2007] [notice] suEXEC mechanism enabled (wrapper: /usr/sbin/suexec)
[Wed May 02 12:18:34 2007] [notice] Digest: generating secret for digest authentication ...
[Wed May 02 12:18:34 2007] [notice] Digest: done
[Wed May 02 12:18:35 2007] [notice] mod_python: Creating 4 session mutexes based on 256 max processes and 0 max threads.
[Wed May 02 12:18:35 2007] [notice] Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS) configured -- resuming normal operations

---

This is the directory that I am trying to protect