Installed CentOS 6 in VirtualBox, installed/configured CUPS, Cannot Access through Host Machine

If it doesn't fit in another category, ask it here.
fjkvasnikoff

Installed CentOS 6 in VirtualBox, installed/configured CUPS, Cannot Access through Host Machine

Post by fjkvasnikoff » 2012/12/13 02:00:12

Hello Everyone!

I am going to state the obvious: I am a complete newbie to the CentOS/Linux world and therefore will ask a bunch of ignorant questions. Apologies. Though I am trying to make my questions and pursuits as realistic as possible.

Here is a synopsis of what I have done and what I am attempting to do (which, I might add, may or may not even be possible):

1. I am running on a Windows 7 (x64) machine and I recently installed CentOS 6.3 (Basic Server configuration) through VirtualBox through the great advice and help found around the tubes. The CentOS VM Basic server is up and running, meaning, to me anyway, I can get to the lovely shell/command line and do fun stuff!

2. I have cobbled together a plan to try and configure a CUPS (Common Unix Print System) installation and then a SAMBA installation to address printer access on our network. This, even to me, sounds a bit insane of a task for a newbie to take on. But Here I am. So, what I have done so far to setup the CUPS install:

I have, of course run yum install cups, and then through a series of fingernail biting and scratching my head I went ahead and configured the /etc/cups/cupsd.conf file through a combination of advice and how-tos that can be found on these sites:
Exhibit A: http://www.server-world.info/en/note?os=CentOS_5&p=cups
Exhibit B: http://blog.funnelfiasco.com/?p=271
Exhibit C: http://www.cups.org/articles.php?L230+T+Q

I would also add that I am such a newbie to the interface that I got thoroughly confused on how to exit and save out of vi! The google saved me in the end though.