disk use %100

General support questions
derdertere

disk use %100

Post by derdertere » 2019/07/24 10:25:58

I'm new in linux. I have a web server. When I run df -h I get the following output. I'm new in linux. I have a web server. When I run df -h I get the following output. I want to delete unnecessary files for now. do not damage the system, but how to find and delete files I can delete.
how can I find it and what commands should I use. I'd like to see where it's filled. that is, for which field is full or what is full, this problem is caused. I'm new to linux and I would be very happy if you want to write a little detailed and commands

[root@abcweb10 ~]# df -h
/dev/mapper/centos-root 12.5G 12.5G 20K 100% /
devtmpfs 2.9G 0 2.9G 0% /dev
tmpfs 3.0G 0 3.0G 0% /dev/shm
tmpfs 3.0G 299M 2.7G 11% /run
tmpfs 3.0G 0 3.0G 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/sda1 497M 202M 295M 41% /boot
tmpfs 596M 0 596M 0% /run/user/0

MartinR

Re: disk use %100

Post by MartinR » 2019/07/24 10:52:18

Probably the best starting place is to run baobab. You'll need to run it as root (su - or sudo) or else it will find many directories unreadable. You'll then be able to see where all the space has gone. My server has 13 GiB in the root filesystem, so your 12.5GiB looks about right. Is there no possibility of adding more space? You may also run into problems with a half gib boot, 2GiB would be a better size.

BTW, you can ignore all the tmpfs and devtmpfs stuff, they are temporary filesystems than only ever exist in memory.

derdertere

Post by derdertere » 2019/07/24 10:58:42

I am unable to add a disc at this time. exactly where I should start and delete what. how can I write commands because I'm new linux / centos. just want to learn.

could you tell me an area that I can delete immediately and will not damage the system

TrevorH
Site Admin

Post by TrevorH » 2019/07/24 12:47:34

First step is to find out where the space is being used. To do that, as root, run

du -x -m --max-depth 1 /