CentOS 7, no disks detected during Macbook Pro dual boot installation

Issues related to hardware problems
GeorgyBoy

CentOS 7, no disks detected during Macbook Pro dual boot installation

Post by GeorgyBoy » 2019/08/02 13:56:45

Hi everyone, greetings first of all.This is my first time in this forum and i´m relatively new in linux world, please excuse me if i make a dumb question. I will try to explain my issue as clear as i can.
I am trying to make a dual boot with CentOS in my Macbook Pro a1707, Mid 2017, Mojave OS, APSF file system without luck, everytime Anaconda doesn`t detect any usable partition to install. I`ve tried several methods: I created partitions using THIS guide and THIS one. I used two different USB sticks, one created with Etcher and another created using dd terminal command. Both boots fine,but stuck at the same point, no disks detected. Funny thing: partitions are detected without issue using an Ubuntu USB installation stick.
I`m in a dead end now, any advice will be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

aks

Re: CentOS 7, no disks detected during Macbook Pro dual boot installation

Post by aks » 2019/08/02 17:08:19

Assuming this is your https://support.apple.com/kb/SP756 machine, then you have two PCIe SSD.
You needed to determine the hardware signature to find the driver to use.
If you boot up a linux system (not for installation) and lspci -vvv and look for your (probably) SATA hardware signature.
Once you know what hardware you have, that you'll have to see if a driver is available. Then (possibly) compile that and insert that driver into the initrd system at installation time.

This seems to have more technical specs:
https://everymac.com/systems/apple/macb ... specs.html

GeorgyBoy

Post by GeorgyBoy » 2019/08/02 20:21:08

aks wrote:
2019/08/02 17:08:19
Assuming this is your https://support.apple.com/kb/SP756 machine, then you have two PCIe SSD.
You needed to determine the hardware signature to find the driver to use.