Network service fails to start automatically

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
Vaso
Posts: 3
Joined: 2014/08/10 07:14:36

Network service fails to start automatically

Post by Vaso » 2014/08/10 08:22:01

Wondering if someone can suggest a workaround as I am running out of ideas.
I have 2 NICs, one is connected to (wired) network, another -isn't.
I was struggling with bridging the first NIC until removing NetworkManager.
After that bridge started working, but I now have to start network service manually. Automatic start fails with "Error Determining IP information for br1... failed; no link present. Check cable?".

My configuration is simple.

ifcfg-eno1

Code: Select all

DEVICE=eno1
TYPE=Ethernet
HWADDR=00:1E:67:AF:F7:F3
ONBOOT=yes
BRIDGE=br1
BOOTPROTO=none
#LINKDELAY=100
ifcfg-br1

Code: Select all

DEVICE=br1
ONBOOT=yes
TYPE=Bridge
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
STP=yes
DELAY=30
ZONE=work
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
GATEWAY=192.168.1.1
DNS1=192.168.1.1
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
#LINKDELAY=150
network

Code: Select all

# Created by anaconda
NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME=vmserver
GATEWAYDEV=br1
NETWORKDELAY=31
I tried adding and changing delays to no avail. The only thing which helps is setting STP=off.
But I do not want to turn it off.

Vaso
Posts: 3
Joined: 2014/08/10 07:14:36

Re: Network service fails to start automatically

Post by Vaso » 2014/08/10 10:56:29

I kept changing little things and at last it started working
Here's the settings at the point it started working:

ifcfg-eno1

DEVICE=eno1
TYPE=Ethernet
HWADDR=00:1E:67:AF:F7:F3
ONBOOT=yes
BRIDGE=br1
BOOTPROTO=none
LINKDELAY=10

ifcfg-br1

DEVICE=br1
ONBOOT=yes
TYPE=Bridge
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
STP=yes
DELAY=0
ZONE=work
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
GATEWAY=192.168.1.1
DNS1=192.168.1.1
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
LINKDELAY=20

network - unchanged

So it appears that just changing those delay values made the difference.
Feels unreliable.

bertan
Posts: 55
Joined: 2014/01/12 23:43:19
Location: Canada

Re: Network service fails to start automatically

Post by bertan » 2014/08/10 12:14:49

The networking manual suggests that

Code: Select all

DELAY=0
is the only necessary part.

Vaso
Posts: 3
Joined: 2014/08/10 07:14:36

Re: Network service fails to start automatically

Post by Vaso » 2014/08/10 12:44:35

In the beginning I set DELAY=0 as suggested everywhere, but it did not work. Then I started adding this and other delays. Not 100% sure which one was actually the culprit.

Post Reply