Address resolution question 1

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
lightman47
Posts: 955
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Address resolution question 1

Post by lightman47 » 2019/06/12 15:07:24

I have defined "printer" in the hosts file of my UBNT Edgemax Lite (running dnsmasq). Whenever I do anything from the command line regarding 'printer' from any machine on the network, it always resolves correctly. However, in both my web browsers (Firefox & Google Chome), if I try to open the printer setup page, the browser bypasses my hosts file and tries to resolve it out on the Web - failing of course. When I add the domain into the browser window (printer.domainname) the browser then resolves correctly.

The hosts entry: nn.nn.11.124 printer printer.domainname

Is this (non-critical) phenomenon because of the way I have defined it, or just a browser 'thing'?

Thank you.
Multple login IDs are not your friend when asking for help!

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 26573
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Address resolution question 1

Post by TrevorH » 2019/06/12 15:26:26

The hosts entry: nn.nn.11.124 printer printer.domainname
That's got the 2 entries the wrong way round though whether it makes any difference is another question. The syntax is

"ip.add.re.ss full.host.name alias1 alias2 ... aliasN"
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
CentOS 6 goes EOL sooner rather than later, get upgrading!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

lightman47
Posts: 955
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: Address resolution question 1

Post by lightman47 » 2019/06/12 16:08:42

I have often wondered about that ! Thank you - will go in and change them all around (some have 4 aliases).

You may have just negated what was going to be resolution question 2. ;-)
Multple login IDs are not your friend when asking for help!

lightman47
Posts: 955
Joined: 2014/05/21 20:16:00
Location: Central New York, USA

Re: Address resolution question 1

Post by lightman47 » 2019/06/12 16:49:36

Okay - changed the hosts file and restarted dnsmasq. Doesn't seem to have changed but there may be some cache involved as well - likely browser. If so, I'm hesitant to empty for fear of what else I'll lose and frankly, it's just not important enough.

Thanks again - at least I got the hosts file they way it ought to be.
Multple login IDs are not your friend when asking for help!

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 7 - Networking Support”