incoming pings from the same subnet work after a while

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
majed17
Posts: 7
Joined: 2014/12/14 10:22:39

incoming pings from the same subnet work after a while

Post by majed17 » 2019/06/13 11:51:45

Peace, if i restart the virtual machine, i can ping it from a remote network just fine, but it doesn't immediately work from an ip on the same subnet..so i ping the server from the same subnet and after about 7 secs it starts working..if i don't ping it from the same subnet, the same subnet connection never works!
here is the network script configuration:

Code: Select all

TYPE=Ethernet
PROXY_METHOD=none
BROWSER_ONLY=no
BOOTPROTO=static
DEFROUTE=yes
NAME=eth0
UUID=b4e7c15c-acf1-4853-8990-bb514558b1ee
DEVICE=eth0
ONBOOT=yes
IPADDR=10.16.11.38
PREFIX=24
GATEWAY=10.16.11.1
worth mentioning that a remote network with same configuration except there is dhcp does not exhibit such a weird problem. tips?

aks
Posts: 2829
Joined: 2014/09/20 11:22:14

Re: incoming pings from the same subnet work after a while

Post by aks » 2019/06/16 19:49:41

if i restart the virtual machine, i can ping it from a remote network just fine,
Okay, which one?
but it doesn't immediately work from an ip on the same subnet..so i ping the server from the same subnet and after about 7 secs it starts working
Okay, maybe the network stack wasn't there at the time.
if i don't ping it from the same subnet, the same subnet connection never works!
What? What does "never works" mean?
tips?
Information and reality?

majed17
Posts: 7
Joined: 2014/12/14 10:22:39

Re: incoming pings from the same subnet work after a while

Post by majed17 » 2019/06/17 05:45:13

1)the one whose configuration is stated.
2) no it is up since it can be pinged remotely.
3) it means, no incoming connections from the same subnet are reached, (for example mysql)

aks
Posts: 2829
Joined: 2014/09/20 11:22:14

Re: incoming pings from the same subnet work after a while

Post by aks » 2019/06/18 18:39:08

We are running around in circles here.

Please explain exactly what is going on and in preferably plain English (and not some god-dam Google translate bullshit):

1) What is wrong.
2) What you've done (if anything) to remedy the issue.
3) Any results of 2.
4) What you want or what you expect next.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 7 - Networking Support”